Purdue Defenders Kawann Short, Ricardo Allen Make ESPN Team


The Boiling Point: Kawann Short and Ricardo Allen named to pre-season all-star team.

ESPN Big Ten bloggers Adam Rittenberg and Brian Bennett named their all-starts for the Leaders and Legends divisions of the Big Ten.  Rittenberg took on the job of the Leaders division, and named Purdue defensive tackle Kawann Short and corner back Ricardo Allen to his all-star team.  These two are probably the most likely to rake in some awards this year.  Offensive lineman Dennis Kelly and Ken Plue would be the only other two players on Purdue that might be up for consideration for this team, but the Big Ten is usually loaded with offensive lineman.  Below is the rest of the Leaders Division All-Star Team:

T: Jeff Allen, Illinois
T: Mike Adams, Ohio State
C: Michael Brewster, Ohio State
G: Kevin Zeitler, Wisconsin
G: Hugh Thornton, Illinois
QB: Nathan Scheelhasse, Illinois
RB: James White, Wisconsin
RB: Montee Ball, Wisconsin
TE: Ted Bolser, Indiana
WR: Derek Moye, Penn State
WR: Damarlo Belcher, Indiana
WR: DeVier Posey, Ohio State

DEFENSE DE: John Simon, Ohio State
DT: Kawann Short, Purdue
DT: Devon Still, Penn State
DE: Nathan Williams, Ohio State
LB: Michael Mauti, Penn State
LB: Chris Borland, Wisconsin
S/LB: Tyler Moeller, Ohio State
CB: Ricardo Allen, Purdue
CB: Antonio Fenelus, Wisconsin
S: Nick Sukay, Penn State
S: Aaron Henry, Wisconsin

P: Brad Nortman, Wisconsin
K: Derek Dimke, Illinois
KR: Jaamal Berry, Ohio State