Purdue LB Named to Lott Trophy List


The Boiling Point: Purdue Line Backer Joe Holland has been named to the Lott Trophy List

Joe Holland was one of 7 Big Ten defensive players named to the Lott Trophy List today. The Lott Trophy is awarded to the nation’s top defender. It is an interesting choice. Personally, I’d put Kwann Short, Ricardo Allen, and Dwayne Beckford all above Holland on Purdue’s defense. Admittedly, besides their actual abilities, I have no idea how they fare on the seven factors that are taken into account for the award: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. But based on skill, I believe those three would be ahead of Holland. Regardless it is a great honor for Holland. The longer he is on the list as it gets trimmed down, the better Purdue is probably playing.

The other players from the Big Ten on the list are: Nebraska DT Jared Crick, Nebraska LB Lavonte David, Wisconsin S Aaron Henry, Michigan S Jordan Kovacs Ohio State DT John Simon, and Michigan State DT Jerel Worthy. The ACC led all conferences with 7 players named to the list. Big Ten player’s have won the award two out of the past 3 seasons; Wisconsin DE J.J. Watt in 2010 and Ohio St LB James Laurinaitis in 2008.